Georgia remains on the updated list of safe countries by European Union

31.07.20 11:30

European Council reviewed the list of countries for which member states should gradually lift travel restrictions at the external borders. Algeria has been removed from the list.


In the updated list, the Council of the European Union recommends that member states open their borders with Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.


The list of safe countries also includes China, but traffic with China will resume only after the country opens its borders to the EU.


Regarding the epidemiological situation, third countries listed should meet the following criteria, in particular: number of new COVID-19 cases over the last 14 days and per 100 000 inhabitants close to or below the EU average (as it stood on 15 June 2020);
the stable or decreasing trend of new cases over this period in comparison to the previous 14 days;
the overall response to COVID-19 taking into account available information, including on aspects such as testing, surveillance, contact tracing, containment, treatment, and reporting, as well as the reliability of the information and, if needed, the total average score for International Health Regulations (IHR). Information provided by EU delegations on these aspects should also be taken into account.


source: 1TV

Read: 433

Write comment

(In their comments, readers should avoid expressing religious, racial and national discrimination, not use offensive and derogatory expressions, as well as appeals that are contrary to the law)

You can enter 512 characters

News feed